16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Manoj K. Karmakar

Affiliation: Anaesthesia and Intensive Care The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shatin, Hong Kong;

Connection with WFSA (if any): None

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: Regional Anaesthesia and Analgesia, Thoracic Paravertebral Block in Anaesthetic Practice, Pain Management following Thoracic Trauma, Clinical Pharmacology of local Anesthetics, Application of Regional Anaesthesia for Major Breast Surgery, Regional anaesthesia and its effects on Chronic pain generation and Quality of Life after major breast surgery, Thoracic paravertebral block and metastasis free survival after breast cancer surgery, Ultrasound Guided Regional Anaesthesia, Regional Anaesthesia in children, Ultrasound Guided Central Neuraxial Blocks for Perioperative Analgesia in Neonates and Young Infants Volumetric 3D 4D Ultrasound Imaging and its Role in Regional Anesthesia. 

Biography: Professor. Karmakar M.K is the Director of Paediatric Anaesthesia at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Prince of Wales Hospital in Hong Kong. His areas of research interest include regional anesthetic techniques and in particular thoracic paravertebral block, spinal sonography, ultrasound guided central neuraxial blocks and local anesthetic pharmacology. Professor Karmakar is internationally recognized for his research in regional anesthesia andhas published extensively in various high impact peer review journals, been invited to speak at numerous international meetings around the world, been a faculty of countless international workshops, and has lectured as a visiting professor at various reputable universities. He has also authored numerous book chapters and co-edited several reference textbooks of regional anesthesia. He is currently the Secretary General of the Asia Oceanic Society of Regional Anaesthesia (AOSRA) and a past president of the Asian Society of Paediatric Anaesthesiologists (ASPA). Dr. Karmakar currently serves as an editorial board member and reviewer for several major peer reviewed journals in anesthesiology.

Disclosure of Interest: None declared


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists