16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Vincent Chan

Affiliation: Anesthesia University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada;

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: regional anesthesia acute pain


Dr. Vincent Chan received a Bachelor of Science degree (Biochemistry, Honors) in 1976 and his MD degree in 1980 from McGill University, Montreal. Dr. Chan obtained postgraduate training in Anesthesiology at University of Toronto, Toronto and board certification (FRCPC, Anesthesia) in 1986. Dr. Chan is acknowledged by his colleagues as an international leader in the fields of regional anesthesia and pain medicine. In 2009, he was awarded the Gold Medal Award by the Canadian Anesthesiologists Society, the highest personal award in recognition of his contribution to anesthesia in Canada through excellence in teaching, research, professional practice in the field of ultrasound guided regional anesthesia. He was President of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine from 2009 to 2011. In 2011, he was conferred with the award of the FRCA Fellowship by Election by the Royal College of Anaesthetists (UK). In May 2013, he received the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS) Teaching Recognition Award for Achievement in Education. In October 2013, he received the Distinguished Service Award from European Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Therapy (Spain) for outstanding clinical, educational and scientific achievements in anesthesiology, and for contributions to the increased knowledge and practice of regional anesthesia.

>Dr. Chan also serves on the editorial board of the Anesthesia Analgesia Journal and Regional Anesthesia Pain Medicine Journal. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles, 14 book chapters and over 80 scientific abstracts.

Disclosure of Interest: Receipt of grants / research supports from: UHN MSH Innovation Fund, Receipt of honoraria or consultation fees from: Smiths Medical, Philips Healthcare


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists