16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Ellen O'Sullivan

Biography: Prof O’Sullivan trained in anaesthesia in the UK and USA and spent 10 years as a Consultant at Aintree Hospital, Liverpool.UK. Now a consultant in St James Hospital Dublin, Ireland she specialises in airway management.

She has been involved in the Difficult Airway Society (DAS) since it’s foundation and was elected President of DAS in November 2009.In 2016 she was appointed the Difficult Airway Society Professor of Anaesthesia & Airway Management.

She was elected to the Council of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) in 2001 and has held many posts including Vice-President. She received the John Snow Silver Medal for my contributions to the AAGBI.

She is the immediate Past-President of the College of Anaesthetist of Ireland having held numerous posts including Chair of Education and Chair of Examinations.
She received the Dudley Buxton award from the RCOA for services to anaesthesia.
Prof O’Sullivan was Irish Lead for the National Audit Project 5 on Accidental Awareness under Anaesthesia (AAGA) a joint RCOA/AAGBI initiative. This received an Irish Healthcare Award for Best Hospital Project in Ireland in November 2015 and also the overall prize—An Dhuas Mor. It was also awarded the Humphry Davy medal by the RCOA.

International and third world work forms an important part of her career to date with early contributions to validating what later became the Life Box Pulse-Oximetry project. She led a team to deliver Oximeters to every anaesthesia provider in Malawi. In addition she was instrumental in delivering a 6 year training programme in Malawi which involved funding courses and training MMEDS in anaesthesia.

In 2015 Professor O’ Sullivan was appointed to the position of Chair of the Scientific Committee on Respiration & Airway Management, ESA. In addition she has recently been elected to the Council of the Royal College of Anaesthetists.


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists