16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Sorin J. Brull

Affiliation: Anesthesiology MAYO CLINIC, Jacksonville, United States;

Award / titles received:  Elected Member, AUA 1993 Association of University Anesthesiologists, Seattle, WA  Member, Anesthetic and Life Support Drugs Advisory Committee (ALSDAC)  2008 Food and Drug Administration (FDA), DHHS, Rockville, MD   Elected Member, Academy of Anesthesiology  2010 Rochester, MN – The Anaesthetists’ Club, Founded 1929 Member, Royal Society of Medicine (by invitation)  2015

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: WFSA Safety Committee. Member of the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) for 24 years, Chaired the APSF Scientific Evaluation Committee for 14 years. Patient Safety Section Editor for the journal Anesthesia & Analgesia for 9 years.

Biography: Sorin J. Brull, MD is Professor of Anesthesiology and Consultant at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. He completed his Internship and Residency at Yale University School of Medicine, followed by fellowships in Obstetric Anesthesia and Thoracic and Vascular Anesthesia in Yale University.

He served as scientific reviewer for Anesthesiology, BJA,Critical Care Medicine, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica, Minerva Anestesiologica, Mayo Clinic Proceedings, EJAand 10 others.Since 2007, Prof. Brull has been Editor, Patient Safety Section for Anesthesia & Analgesia.

Prof Brull’s research interests include neuromuscular junction physiology; muscle relaxants and monitoring the neuromuscular function; and patient safety. He has won numerous clinical and teaching honours; he has been a co-investigator on a National Institutes of Health (NIH) R01 project, and has served as a Consultant to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). He serves the American Board of Anesthesiology as a Senior Examiner, and he has been on the Executive Committee and chaired the Scientific Evaluation Committee of APSF grant program between 1998-2014. His honorary appointments include the Association of University Anesthesiologists, and the Academy of Anesthesiology. In 2011, Prof. Brull received an Honorary Fellowship from the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland, and an Honorary Professorship from the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Moldova, followed by an Honorary Degree from the University of Debrecen, Hungary in 2014, and an Honorary Member Diploma from the Romanian Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care in 2015.

Prof. Brull has delivered hundreds of lectures both nationally and internationally, has been invited as a Visiting Professor at 50 international universities, and has authored almost 400 peer-reviewed manuscripts, editorials, letters, books, chapters and abstracts.

Disclosure of Interest: Receipt of grants / research supports from: Merck, Inc., Stock shareholder of: ADBV


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists