16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Joseph Mathew

Affiliation: Anesthesiology Duke University Medical Center, Durham, United States;

Award / titles received: Jerry Reves Professor of Anesthesiology, Duke University Medical Center FAER Academy of Research Mentors in Anesthesiology President, Association of Cardiac Anesthesiologists

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: Dr. Mathew is an active physician-scientist funded by the National Institutes of Health for research on perioperative neurocognition and functional neuronal connectivity, particularly in the setting of cardiac surgery.

Link to department website: http://anesthesiology.duke.edu/

Biography: Dr. Joseph Mathew received his medical degree from Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, TX, and completed his residency in anesthesiology and a fellowship in Cardiovascular Anesthesiology at Yale University School of Medicine. He spent 8 years at Yale University School of Medicine where he served as Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Co-Director of the Cardiovascular Anesthesia Fellowship, Director of the Transesophageal Echocardiography Imaging Program and Associate Chief of the Section of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology. In 1998, Dr. Mathew joined the faculty at Duke and has since served as director of the Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography (TEE), director of the Neurological Outcome Research Group and the Clinical Research Unit, chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology, and most recently as executive vice chair of Performance and Operations for the Department of Anesthesiology. He has published over 200 manuscripts and book chapters and is the editor of the leading textbook on perioperative TEE. He was recently elected into the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Researchs Academy of Research Mentors. He was appointed as Chair of the Duke Department of Anesthesiology in March of 2015.

Disclosure of Interest: None declared


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists