16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Lal Dhar Mishra

Affiliation: Division of Neuroanaesthesia Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University , Varanasi, India;

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: Coordination Committee for Emergency Medicine

Biography: Dr LD Mishra is currently working as Professor of Anaesthesiology & Head, Division of Neuroanaesthesia, Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi, India. Simultaneously, he is also serving as Chairman, Coordination Committee for Emergency Medicine and Member of the Core Committee for upcoming 354 bedded Trauma Centre, IMS, BHU. Earlier, he served as Head, Dept of Anaesthesiology until 25.10.2015 wef 26.10.2012, ie 3 years. Born on July 12, 1952, Dr Mishra passed MBBS from GSVM Medical College, Kanpur in December 1974. Subsequently, he completed MD (Anaesthesiology) in February 1979 and PhD in 2005 from BHU. Over a career spreading for more than 4 decades, Prof Mishra has held clinical and academic positions in Iran and Libya for over 11 years, before joining BHU as a faculty in 1992. He has regularly represented his department since joining BHU in almost all National, many Zonal & State Conferences and quite a few International Conferences, including the 14th & 15th World Congresses of Anaesthesiologists as a Guest Speaker, Expert faculty, Panellist and Chairperson. He has had a very active research career, publishing over 247 publications, including chapters, lectures and abstracts in International and National Journals, books & conference proceeding books; and guiding 24 MD & 8 Post Doctoral (Neuroanaesthesia) students and co-guiding 1 MCh (Paediatric Surgery) student. He has delivered over 350 Guest Lectures in various National & International forums. Over the years he has received more than one dozen Academic Awards, Orations & Fellowships including Bhopal-ISA (National) Award for Academic Excellence in Anaesthesiology- 2014, International Best Teacher Award-2013 of the ISCA, Dr Kop’s & Dr Bhojraj Awards and Venkat Rao Annual Oration of ISA (National) as well as numerous Orations of the State Chapters of ISA, SERC Visiting Fellowship of the DST in Neuroanaesthesia at AIIMS New Delhi, the INSA Overseas Fellowship in Neuroanaesthesia at Warsaw, Poland, Fellow of International Science Congress Association (FISCA) and Fellow of Indian College of Anaesthesiologists (FICA) etc. Moreover, Dr Mishra has also held several leadership positions in professional and academic bodies, most notably as President of the Indian Society for the Study of Pain, Vice President of the Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists (National), Trustee & Editor-in-Chief of the Indian College of Anaesthesiologists and President, BHU Medical Teachers' Forum. Currently he is serving as President-Elect, Indian Society of Neuroanaesthesiology & Critical Care (ISNACC) for the year 2015-2016.

Disclosure of Interest: None declared


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists