16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists

28 August - 2 September 2016
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

Jonathan Moss

Affiliation: Anesthesia & Critical Care University of Chicago, Chicago, United States;

Connection with WFSA (if any): Invited Speaker

Award / titles received: Convocation Speaker, The University of Chicago, 2005 Key Note Speaker - T.H. Seldon Memorial Lecture- IARS, 2008

Statement of expertise for the sub-committee: Not Applicable

Biography: After an undergraduate education at Harvard, Dr. Moss received his Ph.D. (Professor ToshioNarahashi, Physiology and Pharmacology) and his M.D. from Duke University. He subsequently trained at the NIH under Nobel Laureate Julius Axelrod and Prof I. J.Kopin, and completed a residency in anesthesiology at Massachusetts General Hospital (Harvard). In 1985, after 10 years on the faculty at Harvard, Dr. Moss was appointed Professor at the University of Chicago. Professor Moss has published more than 100 articles and 40 textbook chapters, predominantly in the area of the pharmacology of anesthetic drugs. He has authored the chapters on ""Autonomic Pharmacology"" and ""Herbal Medications"" in Miller's Anesthesia, a well-known standard text in the field, and has given the national refresher course lecture to the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) on adverse reactions to anesthetics five times and on peripheral opiate antagonists five times. Dr. Moss is one of the developers of the periperal opiate antagonist MNTX. MNTX (RELISTOR™), given subcutaneously, has been approved for the treatment of opioid induced constipation (OIC) in palliative care patients in more than 50 countries, A recent focus of Professor Moss' research has been the use of MNTX in the ICU and the relationship of the mu opioid receptor and cancer progression and the use of MNTX in intensive care to facilitate nutrition, restore bowel function and reverse the effects of opiates on bacterial sepsis. Clinical trials in these areas are underway.


  © 16th World Congress of Anaesthesiologists